neighborhoodr-lowereastside:

From 1903-1948 Delancey Street was a major hub for trolleys coming over the Williamsburg Bridge from Brooklyn. (In fact, people from Brooklyn were called “trolley dodgers” because there were so many lines crisscrossing the streets — is that what the baseball team was named after?) Today a vast underground trolley station exists that spans from Clinton Street in the east to Essex in the west. It’s prime underground real estate that may eventually be a “Low Line” park but for now it’s a unique historical relic that can be (partially) observed from the modern day tracks. Courtesy of MTA Insider, we can take a closer look at this underground real estate.

(Source: neighborhoodr-lowereastside)

Comments
7 notes | Tags: History  Real Estate  Delancey  Williamsburg